National public holidays 2017

New Year’s Day (except NT) – Sunday 1 January
New Year’s Day holiday – Monday 2 January
Australia  Day – Thursday 26 January
Good Friday – Friday 14 April
Easter Saturday (except Tas and WA) – Saturday 15 April
Easter Monday – Monday 17 April
Anzac Day – Tuesday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday (except Qld and WA) – Monday 12 June
Christmas Day – Monday 25 December
Boxing Day – Tuesday 26 December 

Australian Capital Territory

Canberra Day – Monday 13 March
Family and Community Day – Monday 25 September
Labour Day – Monday 2 October 

New South Wales

Easter Sunday – Sunday 16 April
Labour Day – Monday 2 October

Northern Territory

May Day – Monday 1 May
Picnic Day – Monday 7 August 


Labour Day – Monday 1 May
Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane area only) – Wednesday 16 August
Queen’s Birthday – Monday 2 October 

South Australia

March public holiday – Monday 13 March
Labour Day – Monday 2 October 


Royal Hobart Regatta Day (south of & including Oatlands) – Monday 13 February
Eight Hours Day – Monday 13 March
Recreation Day (north of Oatlands) – Monday 6 November 


Labour Day – Monday 13 March
AFL Grand Final Eve – to be announced
Melbourne Cup Day – Tuesday 7 November 

Western Australia

Labour Day – Monday 6 March
Western Australia Day – Monday 5 June
Queen’s Birthday – Monday 25 September 

Payment for working a public holiday

Payment for any work performed by an employee on a public holiday is determined by the applicable modern award (subject to the transitional provisions of the relevant award), or enterprise agreement.

Payment for work performed on a public holiday for an award/agreement free employee is subject to the individual’s contract of employment. 

Local or regional holidays

It should also be noted that a public holiday can be declared for a particular region or locality within a state or a territory. Reference should be made to the relevant state or territory government website to determine the date of a local or regional public holiday.

Please note: The holidays may be subject to change (including additional holidays) by proclamation or gazettal by the relevant state or territory government.

Source: Workplace Info