To assist employers with staff planning for next year, a list of school holiday dates for government schools in each state and territory are provided below.

It should be noted that private schools often have different school holiday dates to government schools.

The start and finish dates are inclusive.
 

Australian Capital Territory


Christmas holidays: Saturday 17 December 2016 – Thursday 26 January 2017
Term 1 break: Saturday 8 April 2017 – Tuesday 25 April 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 1 July 2017 – Sunday 16 July 2017
Term 3 break: Saturday 23 September 2017 – Sunday 8 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Saturday 16 December 2017 – Thursday 1 February 2018
 

New South Wales


Christmas holidays: Wednesday 21 December 2016 – Thursday 26 January 2017
Term 1 break: Saturday 8 April 2017 – Sunday 23 April 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 1 July 2017 – Sunday 16 July 2017
Term 3 break: Saturday 23 September 2017 – Sunday 8 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Wednesday 20 December 2017 - tba
 

Northern Territory


Christmas holidays: Friday 16 December 2016 – Sunday 22 January 2017 (urban schools only)
Easter and end term 1 break: Saturday 8 April 2017 – Monday 17 April 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 24 June 2017 – Sunday 23 July 2017
Term 3 break: Saturday 30 September 2017 – Sunday 8 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Friday 15 December 2017 – Sunday 28 January 2018
 

Queensland


Christmas holidays: Saturday 10 December 2016 – Sunday 22 January 2017
End term 1 break: Saturday 1 April 2017 – Sunday 16 April 2017
End term 2 break: Saturday 24 June 2017 – Sunday 9 July 2017
End term 3 break: Saturday 16 September 2017 – Monday 2 October 2017
Christmas holidays break 2017-18: Saturday 9 December 2017 – Sunday 21 January 2018
 

South Australia


Christmas holidays: Saturday 17 December 2016 – Sunday 29 January 2017
Term 1 break: Friday 14 April 2017 – Sunday 30 April 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 8 July 2017 – Sunday 23 July 2017
Term 3 break: Saturday 30 September 2017 – Sunday 15 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Saturday 16 December 2017 – Sunday 28 January 2018
 

Tasmania


Christmas holidays 2016-17: Thursday 22 December 2016 – Tuesday 7 February 2017
Easter break: Friday 14 April 2017 – Sunday 30 April 2017
Term 1 break: Saturday 8 July 2017 – Sunday 23 July 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 30 September 2017 – Sunday 15 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Friday 22 December 2017 – Tuesday 6 February 2018
 

Victoria


Christmas holidays: Wednesday 21 December 2016 – Monday 30 January 2017
Term 1 break: Saturday 1 April 2017 – Monday 17 April 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 1 July 2017 – Sunday 16 July 2017
Term 3 break: Saturday 23 September 2017 – Sunday 8 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Saturday 23 December 2017 – tba
 

Western Australia


Christmas holidays: Friday 16 December 2017 – Tuesday 31 January 2017
Term 1 break: Saturday 8 April 2017 – Sunday 23 April 2017
Term 2 break: Saturday 2 July 2017 – Sunday 17 July 2017
Term 3 break: Saturday 23 September 2017 – Sunday 8 October 2017
Christmas holidays 2017-18: Friday 15 December 2017 – Tuesday 30 January 2018

 

Source: Workplace Info